German cheesecake experiment

Someone special just had a birthday, and I decided to make a cheesecake using the ubiquitous ‘quark’ that takes up so much of the dairy case at the grocery store. It looked a bit like whipped cream cheese, and the cake ended up with a much fluffier consistency than cheesecake in America. Apparently we would call it ‘farmer’s cheese,’ but since I don’t know what that is, I can’t say how similar it is to its German counterpart.

Here is the recipe for the cheesecake. I was hoping to find some Spekulatius to crush up and make a graham cracker-ish crust, but those seem to have gone the way of Glühwein and all other Christmas-related foods. However, even though I don’t normally like traditional pie crust, this crust is YUM – flaky and lemony and not too much of a pain to make.

I melted some chocolate on the stove and mixed it in with half the batter, and then layered white and dark in the disk. Then I drizzled the rest of the chocolate over the cake because, well, what else to do?

 

One response to “German cheesecake experiment

  1. Ah! Quark! One of my favorite things to eat. Farmer’s cheese is not the same. Sometimes I will have Canadian friends bring me some when they visit so I can make one of those delicious quark cheesecakes. In Canada, it is available in the grocery store. In Ohio, you have to special order it and it is very expensive. Another yummy quark recipe: whip it up, add a little salt, pepper, oil and vinegar, then serve it on a baked potato or a brotchen.
    Love your posts. Headed to Germany next week to visit my cousins.

Leave a Reply

