Happy Saint Patrick’s Day from Germany

My favorite part of every March:

Related: If you ever want to go out and look for cream of tartar in Germany, just quit while you’re ahead. After consulting with a bunch of American ex-pats, German-American friends and countless message boards, I went ahead and used Weinsäure, which might be the closest thing, and I didn’t notice any difference in the soda bread. Still delicious!

We went out last night to what I think is the only Irish pub in town (called ‘Irish Pub’) had some Guinness and listened to Flogging Molly and the Dropkick Murphys on repeat. English Premier League soccer was playing inside, but we were out on the street since there was just no room indoors. An Irish-garbed Bielefeld bagpipe group was headlining, leading me to wonder: what do they do on the other 364 days of the year?

2 responses to “Happy Saint Patrick’s Day from Germany

  1. A Paddy’s Day party in Bielefeld? I had my own party organised for my two Irish girls at home as I didn’t know there was anything happening here. At the same time, by the sounds of it the party you went didn’t sound that suitable for a two year old… I’m referring to the bag-pipes as one really needs to have some Guinness in to survive them, my opinion just

    • Trust me, it’s nothing you would want your girls at 🙂 There were a lot of party people out on the tram and downtown as well, all with Guinness hats.

Leave a Reply

