Thanks, bike/beer fairy!

As with pretty much everything in Germany, you “just have to know.” I’m planning a series of posts about this topic (which could probably make up a multi-volume anthology of work), but in short: no one will tell you anything, and yet everyone already seems to know everything. To give a more specific example, I’ve noticed that all of the bikes here have seat covers, to protect against the inevitable rain, but I’ve never seen them out for sale anywhere. On Friday, I rode my bike to the university for the first time and, upon coming out later in the afternoon, found that I could cross this question off of my checklist:

Image

In addition to the German colors, it says “Herforder” (a beer company) on the side. I feel so German now, it hurts. Or maybe that’s just my butt getting used to this bike.

2 responses to “Thanks, bike/beer fairy!

Leave a Reply

