Staying Warm With Food

It’s the perfect weather to just eat warm food all day. Here are some recent things I tried that seemed to fit the bill.

Potato soup in the making

Potato soup in the making

In my opinion, you can’t have potato soup without bacon on top. They didn’t have any bacon at the store, exactly – so I went ahead and fried up some Schwarzwald Schinken. On the packaging, it was shown being served as a delicious, classy snack with German bread. Not fried to oblivion for some evil American food purpose. (But it was still delicious cooked my way!)

Potato soup with "bacon"

Potato soup with “bacon”

To dip in the soup, some cream biscuits:

Cream biscuits

Cream biscuits

And finally, salted chocolate caramel cookies. I was surprised to find Rolos at the little store near our place. Probably should have picked up some more Natron while I was there:

Deliciously flat cookies with Rolos in the middle. Or in this case, all over the baking sheet.

Deliciously flat cookies with Rolos in the middle. Or in this case, all over the baking sheet.

9 responses to “Staying Warm With Food

  1. Those cookies like fantastic!! You can get Rolos all over the place here. There’s even a place that does Rolos Flammkuchen.

    I agree, potato soup nEEDS bacon!needs bacon!

  2. Yum. You should make a batch of those cookies (or a baking sheet full) for the next meetup. Or just send me the recipe. Everything else looked awesome as well.

    • I just got some new baking soda, so maybe I will try them again and bring them to the next meeting. They’ll come out looking more like the photo from the original recipe…hopefully.

  3. Also, it’s funny that you call the things in the second picture biscuits. To me, the cookies are biscuits and your biscuits are plain scones 😀

    • That’s really funny. Sometimes I wonder about the linguistic challenges we would face living somewhere like England. They wouldn’t seem to be as big as here on the surface, but that’s how the little things sneak up on you. I could end up ordering the most unintentional breakfast ever!

Leave a Reply

